Wallows (Los Angeles, CA)

Photo by Raunie Mae Baker.

Photo by Raunie Mae Baker.

Wallows is an American rock band based in Los Angeles composed of Braeden Lemasters, Cole Preston, and Dylan Minnette. They are signed to Atlantic Records. The band began releasing songs independently in April 2017 starting with "Pleaser", which reached number two on the SpotifyGlobal Viral 50 chart. They released their major label debut EP, Spring, on April 6, 2018. Their first LP, Nothing Happens, was released on March 22, 2019.

The band's three members—Braeden Lemasters (guitar and vocals), Cole Preston (drums), and Dylan Minnette (guitar and vocals)—first formed a musical group as children in a music program: GigMasterz in Keyboard Galleria Music Center (Southern California), they were called "Join the Band". Over the course of the next decade, the three performed together using different band names. They also played the 2011 Warped Tour.

In April 2017, the band released their first single under the Wallows moniker, "Pleaser". The song would eventually reach number two on the Spotify Global Viral 50 chart and number one on the KROQ Locals Only playlist. In May 2017, Wallows released a second single, "Sun Tan", and began playing live shows in the Los Angeles area, selling out The Roxy and the Troubadour. Their third single, "Uncomfortable", was released in September 2017.

In November 2017, their song, "Pulling Leaves Off Trees", was premiered on Zane Lowe's Beats 1 radio show. That month, the band also announced their first headlining North American tour that would run from January to March 2018. The tour started in San Francisco on January 24. In February 2018, the band announced that they had signed to Atlantic Records and were planning to release their major label debut EP, Spring, in April 2018. They also released a new single, "Pictures of Girls", their first on Atlantic. The song was chosen as a "Critical Cut" by SiriusXM Alt Nation.

Wallows ended their North American tour at South by Southwest in March 2018.[12][16] Later in the month, they released a second track from Spring titled "These Days". The EP was released on April 6, 2018 by Atlantic Records and was produced by John Congleton.

On February 1, 2019, Wallows released the single "Are You Bored Yet?" featuring Clairo. This song is a part of their debut album, Nothing Happens, released on March 22, 2019. A subsequent music video was also released on this day with a cameo of Noah Centineo and Kaitlyn Dever.